Sacred Tension
Sacred Tension
Sibling Rivalry: What is God? | Elizabeth Schultz
5
0:00
-1:31:19

Sibling Rivalry: What is God? | Elizabeth Schultz

5

moon eclipse
Photo by Jongsun Lee on Unsplash

In this episode of Sacred Tension, I’m joined by my sister Elizabeth Schultz. Elizabeth is a conservative Christian, classical educator, and homesteader. She asks me probing questions about my agnostic atheist worldview, and we compare and contrast our perspectives. We get into a lively discussion about God, why we do and don’t believe in him, whether it is possible to have a moral foundation without him, how we might find common ground across our worldview divides, and much more.

We explore fascinating differences in intuition. I situate my ethics in the fact and mystery of human consciousness, whereas Elizabeth situates her moral framework in an external God that she is accountable to. She sees evidence of God all around her, while I see none at all. She believes doubt requires further surrender to the divine, whereas doubt led me away from belief in God entirely.

I love hearing back from my audience. Please leave your comments on our discussion below, and I might feature them in an upcoming post. Be sure to also join the cult (I mean Discord server).

Share this episode with friends. If you do, you get awards.

Share

5 Comments